Uzhgorod Church of St. Anne, she’s Goryanskaya rotunda – “the lady” at the age of. She is eight hundred years! This is one of the oldest surviving temples of Transcarpathia! In addition to its unusual shape, the Shrine is also unique ancient frescoes, which values can be compared with mosaics and paintings of St. Sophia.
Myths and facts
The name of the rotunda received from the village horyany (now a district of Uzhgorod).
It is assumed that the temple was built in the XIII century, although some historians date it to the IX-XI centuries. Perhaps it was originally a chapel of the local castle Goryansky (according to another version, a Catholic monastery), which also served defensive functions.
According to the legend, the founder of the temple was the Countess Grahics, which in the XIII century, owned the local rock. However, in the XV century from the fortress had only the name of the territory – “the settlement, gorodyska”.
The temple survived, and in the XV century and has a modern look to the rotunda was added to the rectangular nave of the Nicholas Church – thus, the rotunda became the altar.
During the eight centuries the relic has survived a number of state (in particular, Austria-Hungary, Czechoslovakia, the USSR, which in turn was Transcarpathia) and survived!
But in 1879 during the construction works under a layer of plaster were found unique frescoes, and inconspicuous Ukrainskyi the temple quickly became a world celebrity.
In 1962, the Shrine, supposedly closed for restoration, became a branch of the Transcarpathian Museum of local lore. Now the Church of St. Anna – acting, belongs UCCC.
What to see
The rotunda is built in the style Romano-Byzantine architecture with elements of the great Moravian architecture. The height and diameter of the structure is 8 meters.
The rotunda (in Italian) is a circular building with thick (up to 2-2,5 m) walls and narrow Windows-loopholes. Marquee-shaped roof covered with shingles. Inside in the shape of a hexagon has 5 semi-circular niches.
The attraction of the interior of the rotunda, fragments of frescoes (1360-1370.), created by the masters of the Italian school of Giotto di Bondone: “the Annunciation”, “adoration of the Magi”, “the last supper”, “Christ before Pilate”, etc. it is believed that the frescoes were commissioned by the Italian architect Druget, the then owner of Uzhgorod castle.
The main rectangular nave built in the Gothic style. The frescoes on the East wall back to the XV century.