St. George monastery
A unique place of Phiolent is St. George monastery. It was founded in 891 by Greek sailors. They caught in a storm, suffered shipwreck, and, seeing their inevitable death, began to call on the help of the Holy great Martyr George. The Saint heard their desperate cry, appeared on a big cliff near the shore and immediately calmed the storm.
The most unique place of Phiolent is St. George monastery. the monastery was founded in 891 by Greek sailors. They caught in a storm, suffered shipwreck, and, seeing their inevitable death, began to call on the help of the Holy great Martyr George. The Saint heard their desperate cry, appeared on a big cliff near the shore and immediately calmed the storm. When the saved sailors climbed up the cliff, on its top they found an icon of St. George, took it to the shore and rocky cliff made a cave Church. The most righteous of them settled near it and became hermits.
The first documentary evidence of it was left in 1578 by Martin bronevskiy, and in 1598 it was mentioned together with other Crimean monasteries in the letter of grant of Tsar Boris Godunov. In 1771 arrived at the Crimean Department of Metropolitan Ignatius its first service held in St. George monastery. The monastery of Chersonesos was governed by bishops, with 1304, the Gothic saints. From 1475 to 1794 the monastery was subordinate to the Patriarchy of Constantinople, where during the eviction of Christians from the Crimea, Abbot Ignatius was taken the monastery’s archive. Later the monastery became subordinate to the Holy Synod. March 23, 1806, was approved by his staff. The monastery was given an important mission – to prepare hieromonks for the faounded black sea fleet.
In 1924 St. George monastery was closed and its premises were a military unit of the black sea fleet. In the 90-ies of XX century began the revival of the St. George monastery at Fiolent. Until he returned all his territory – only one that is going down the cliffs to the sea. Here is a legendary ancient cave temple of St. George.
In 1991, the efforts of the Church and the black sea fleet on the rock of St. Phenomena was raised a new seven-cross, weighing 1400 kg. is Recovered and the cells of St. George monastery, preparations for the big construction. St. George monastery is located on the edge of the precipice. Here lives a few monks who are engaged in restoration of the destroyed shrines. In the cave temple of St. George holds regular worship services.
Friday, Saturday and Sunday open to the laity in the monastery, and everyone is welcome to attend the worship service.